John Knox House, 43-45 High Street, Royal Mile, Edinburgh, EH1 1SR
John Knox’s House is a historic house dating back to 1470. Originally a family of goldsmiths named Mossman owned it. And briefly in 1572, the Protestant reformer John Knox lived there. It is located in the Netherbow area, which was the site of the medieval Netherbow Port, a large gateway that used to stand over the Royal Mile.
John Knox Exhibition and Museum
You can take a tour of John Knox House and discover the full story of this fascinating place. A special exhibition over three floors showcases the beautiful craftsmanship of the house and the stories of its inhabitants. From James Mossman (goldsmith to Mary Queen of Scots) to John Knox himself. It also shows recent research and excavations uncovering the history of the building. Including, how it was saved from demolition in the 1840s.
An audio guide (in English) is available for a small charge, which singles out the points of interest and tells stories of the past inhabitants of the house. For an extra special tour, the Scottish Storytelling Centre next door offers bespoke tours of the building and surrounding Netherbow area with a professional storyteller, helping to bring the history of the place to life.
Visit John Knox House
See the Scottish Storytelling Centre website for tour prices and more information.